How to delete a message sent on Facebook Messenger
This page was translated using AI and machine learning.
(Pocket-lint) – Facebook Messenger has an “unsent” feature for all users. The feature lets you delete messages from a conversation after you’ve sent them – similar to what WhatsApp also lets you do within a certain time frame, although the WhatsApp feature offers more time.
The idea is that, if you ever send someone the wrong message, make a typo, or send something you regret, you can delete it in Messenger. Here’s how the feature works and how to use it.
How to unsend a Facebook message
First, you need to complete these steps within 10 minutes of sending the message you want to cancel or delete, so you need to work fast.
- Press and hold the message you want to delete in the iOS or Android app
- Tap ‘More’ at the bottom
- Select “Delete”
- Tap “Cancel Send” or “Delete For You”
If you are using a web browser:
- Tap the three dots to the left of the message you want to delete
- Tap “Delete”
- “Hit Cancel for Everyone” or “Delete for You”
If you select “Unsend”, Facebook Messenger will replace your message with a notice that you didn’t send the message and it will have a “Deleted at [horodatage]”. The unsent message is deleted from the conversation, but it can still be included if the conversation is reported and the recipient will still be able to see that you sent and deleted a message, as well as report it, but they cannot see what you have sent.
If you want to delete a message just for yourself, select “Delete for you” (others will still see your message with this option).
Who can use Facebook’s unsend feature?
Facebook’s unsend feature is available on the Facebook Messenger app for iOS and Android. It is also available on the browser.
Accumulate rewards and advantages on all your existing cards with this Curve Mastercard
This awesome system will save you time and effort every time you pay.
Written by Maggie Tillman. Edited by Britta O’Boyle.