What is Apple Shared with You and how does it work?
This page was translated using AI and machine learning.
(Pocket-lint) – Apple has unveiled a new system-wide messaging feature designed to bring up content previously shared with you with the release of iOS 15.
Appropriately called Shared with You, the feature currently works with six different Apple apps, such as Apple News. It’s designed to make it easier for you to review items your friends and family send you in Messages, such as articles.
What is shared with you?
It’s easier to think of Shared with you as an Apple Messages feature that creates a new “Shared with you” section in the Apple Photos app, Apple Music app, Apple News app, Safari app, Apple Podcast app, and Apple TV app.
Any content shared with you in Messages will appear in those Apple apps under “Shared with you” for quick and easy access.
How does Shared with you work?
Basically, if a friend sends you a photo, playlist, article, site, podcast, or movie in Messages, you’ll see that content appear in the “Shared with you” sections of your Apple apps. For example, shared photos will appear in the Photos app, playlists will appear in the Music app, and articles will appear in the News app, etc. It’s simple.
The Shared with you section appears in the Listen Now tab of the Apple Music app. From there, you can easily play a shared playlist and even add it to your library.
The Share with you section appears in the Today tab of the Apple News app, under the Top Stories section. You can tap the three dots under any shared story for a range of options, such as Remove sharing, Save story, Copy link, or Reply.
In the Photos app, content shared with you can be found in the For You tab, as well as Featured Photos & Memories. Photos shared with you are also automatically added to your library.
Interestingly, Apple said when it announced the feature that Photos is smart enough to bring the photos you “really care about” – so you won’t have to worry about screenshots or memes clutter.
Any websites shared through Messages will appear in the tabs section of Safari, with a small line of text above two indicating who has shared them with you.
As for the TV application, it has a Shared line with you. This has all movies and shows your shared friends in Messages.
For the Apple Podcasts app, just like the others, there is a Share with you section which is below the Next section at the top. You’ll also see a little tag next to the podcast telling you who it was shared from.
Is that right?
Nope. You can also quickly pin content in Posts to pick up in Shared with you. Cared for.
Apple iPhone 13 Special Launch Event – Pocket-lint Podcast 121
When will Shared with you be available?
Shared With You is available in Messages and works with Apple apps when you update to iOS 15, iPadOS 15, and tvOS 15, all of which are available for download now.
Written by Maggie Tillman. Edited by Britta O’Boyle. Originally published on .